Cherokee County Offices

Cherokee County was formed from land given by Nacogdoches County in 1846. It was organized in the same year. The town of Rusk, Texas, became the county seat. Cherokee County voted in favor of secession from the Union during the build-up to the American Civil War.

In 1872, the International-Great Northern Railroad caused Jacksonville to relocate two miles east, to be near the tracks. The Kansas and Gulf Short Line Railway was built north-to-south through the county between 1882 and 1885. The Texas and New Orleans Railroad in 1905 and the Texas State Railroad in 1910 each gave rise to new county towns along their tracks.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is my commissioner?

Precinct 2 Commissioner Steven Norton 

Phone: 936-858-4785 Fax: 936-858-4786



County Judge Chris Davis is over the Commissioners Court

Phone: 903-683-2324 Fax: 903-683-2393


Commissioners meet twice per month on Tuesday mornings. Agendas are posted here:


Who is my Justice of the Peace?

Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace
Judge Amber Hood

Phone: 936-858-4732
Fax: 936-858-2271

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 553 Alto, TX 75925
Physical Address:
123 W. San Antonio, Alto, Texas